My bird year 2010

For the first time I’ve kept a list of all the bird species I’ve seen during the year, but I think 2010 will be a hard act to follow.  I saw 118 species with a further three which I heard.  The tally was much helped by a visit to Lincolnshire in February (an unusual holiday destination for Feb, but I can recommend it).  There, much assisted by Kevin Hand, I identified lots of waders at Freiston Shore and Gibraltar Point.

Special bird events for me were:

  • finding crossbills in Cowleaze Wood, Oxon, on 7 Feb (fortunately during a survey of my British Trust for Ornithology atlas tetrad – but I need to go back this year to try to find breeding evidence),
  • hearing my first nightingale at Ebernoe Common, West Sussex, on 6 May,

White Wood, home of the wood warbler

  • hearing wood warblers in White Wood below Bench Tor on Dartmoor on 28 May – thanks to Ian Mercer for recommending this spot,

Day breaks over Tavy Cleave

  • a dawn walk in Tavy Cleave, Dartmoor, on 31 May with ring ouzels, peregrine, cuckoos, whinchats, grey wagtails visiting a nest under an overhanging rock, and a fox stalking in the heather,

 

  • my first bearded tits (now called bearded reedlings) for nearly 30 years, at Blakeney, Norfolk, on 1 August,
  • a blustery walk on the north Kent coast on 27 August where I saw arctic skua among other species blown that way by the strong north wind,
  • the recent snow brought a male brambling onto our window feeder  at Turville in Bucks.
    Brambling

Sorry, this is pure indulgence -but just as Wordsworth enjoyed recollections in tranquillity, it’s nice to remember happy birding during the murky days of winter.

About campaignerkate

I am the general secretary of the Open Spaces Society and I campaign for public access, paths and open spaces in town and country.
This entry was posted in Birds, British Trust for Ornithology, My bird year and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My bird year 2010

  1. Hazel Perham says:

    Love this site Kate, as im laid up with broken ankle have been embroidering my life onto cloth and in amongst my memories and experiences has been birds. Ones I have seen in Australia, Cyprus, Cornwall appear so far. The puffin proved quite difficult with its colourful beak.

Leave a Reply

