Welcome to Exmoor!

I arrived in Exford this evening and decided to take a short walk before supper.  You’d have thought the paths in the much-visited heart of the national park would be in good order, but sadly not.

I took the footpath on the east side of the church towards Prescott, turning west to Coombe Farm.  To the north of Coombe Farm the map shows a footpath following what looks like an old way (SS 855 393) but on reaching it I found the gate unopenable (until I cut the binder twine fastening it and managed to shift it back so I could squeeze through) and the path itself was heavily overgrown with brambles, nettles, young trees, bracken and rosebay willowherb.

Blocked footpath near Coombe Farm, Exford

 

I struggled along the quarter-mile route, which was heavily overgrown as the state of my legs proves.

 

I shall of course be reporting this deplorable obstruction to the national park authority.

About campaignerkate

I am the general secretary of the Open Spaces Society and I campaign for public access, paths and open spaces in town and country.
This entry was posted in National parks, Public paths and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome to Exmoor!

  1. Richard Eales says:

    Dear Kate
    You were not walking the definitive line. The above info is inaccurate and misleading. I would welcome the opportunity to meet with you and walk this path. Please contact me so I can let you know where you went wrong.
    Best Wishes
    Richard Eales
    ENPA Ranger – 07772989737
    rteales@exmoor-nationalpark.co.uk

  2. Thanks for getting in touch Richard, I’ve sent you an email about this so we can pursue it.

Leave a Reply

