Nine kinds of warblers

On my visit to Otmoor on the morning of Sunday 8 May I saw or heard nine kinds of warblers, a record for me on one visit.  The only one I missed was the grasshopper warbler.

I saw chiffchaff, garden warbler, whitethroat, lesser whitethroat, reed warbler, sedge warbler and heard blackcap, willow warbler and Cetti’s warbler.

The place was alive with birdsong.  As I approached down Otmoor Lane I turned off the radio and wound down the windows to let the sounds of Otmoor greet me.  Two cuckoos, one with its tail missing, crossed in front of me.

3 Otmoor Lane

Otmoor Lane

As I parked I could hear the comfortable purring of the turtle dove.

I walked first down the Roman road to spot the dove perched in an oak tree above, and then went round by the feeders where I heard and saw him again flying over.

1 Roman road

Roman road

I saw my first whitethroat of the year along the Roman road, the first of many that morning.

2 location of year's first whitethroat

Where I saw my first whitethroat of the year

I passed the field where I hoped to hear grasshopper warblers.  It reverberated with song, but not theirs.

4 car park field

Field where I have heard grasshopper warblers in the past

As I walked along the path to the hide, the reed and sedge warblers were noisy, the sedges flying across the path and sitting helpfully in trees, while the reed warblers remained largely hidden.  I love the way sedge warblers show you the pink inside their beaks when they sing.  The numerous reed buntings, for all their dapper suit-and-tie appearance, make a rather common, mournful sound.

5 way to the hide

Path to the hide

Further along the bridleway towards Noke I saw my first-ever lesser whitethroat, clearly much greyer than the whitethroat.  I spent ages tracking down a garden warbler which was singing clearly but remained elusive for a long time.  Every so often I got a burst of Cetti’s warbler song.

7 bridlway to Noke

Bridleway to Noke, close to where I saw the lesser whitethroat

I met a boy on the bridleway clutching the Collins birdbook; he was watching a sedge warbler at the top of a tree and then consulting the book.  I offered help but he didn’t want it.  Then I met his parents, they were over here for a year from India, and the boy knew the Indian birds and wanted to learn ours.  It was such a wonderful encounter, I wish I met more children who were so enthusiastic.

8 Indian birdwatching boy

The birdwatching enthusiasts

The warblers were the highlight of the day for me, but it was lovely to see marsh harriers, a heron with two babies, and three hobbies dancing overhead and enjoying the thermals.

 

About campaignerkate

I am the general secretary of the Open Spaces Society and I campaign for public access, paths and open spaces in town and country.
This entry was posted in Birds, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nine kinds of warblers

  1. Maddison says:

    Hi to all, the contents present at this web site
    are in fact remarkable for people knowledge, well, keep up
    the nice work fellows.

Leave a Reply

