Butterfly bonanza!

Shortly after posting my blog, Butterfly surprise, I head from Jenny Plackett, South West Senior Regional Officer with Butterfly Conservation.   Jenny has overseen the volunteer work-parties on Common Wood and given us excellent advice for the last four years.  She visited Common Wood on 2 June and reports as follows.

I went into Kate’s bracken slope, where I recorded six Small Pearl Bordered Fritillaries plus at least nine Chimney Sweeper moths (lovely black day-flying moths with a white border) in eight minutes (I had to make it quick as they were flying so fast I was concerned that I would start double-counting!).  And the joy continued …. I spotted a single Marsh Fritillary right in the middle of the bottom marsh (I think the two you spotted last week must have come from there, or were on their way down there!).

web SPBF

Small Pearl-Bordered Fritillary at Common Wood. Photo: Hil Marshall, 9 June 2013

Marion has done even better with her river field—21 Marsh Fritillaries and three Small Pearl Bordered Fritillaries during Jenny’s eight-minute zig-zag walk.

What joyful stuff!

About campaignerkate

I am the general secretary of the Open Spaces Society and I campaign for public access, paths and open spaces in town and country.
This entry was posted in butterflies, Common Wood, Dartmoor, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Butterfly bonanza!

  1. Pingback: When butterflies die | look around!

Leave a Reply

