Too many chaffinches?

I am a bit of a sucker for surveys which combine my two hobbies of walking and bird identification.  So when the River Thame Conservation Trust contacted me about a bird survey in the Thame catchment, I signed up.  The purpose is to understand the freshwater habitats and species of the catchment and to monitor changes in them.

I have been given a tetrad (two-kilometre square) on the edge of the study area some distance from the River Thame.  It is in the Wormsley valley near Stokenchurch (SU79H, with the grid reference SU7294 in the bottom left-hand corner).  I covered this tetrad for the British Trust for Ornithology (BTO) bird atlas in 2009-10, and was particularly thrilled to see a crossbill here in February 2010.  So I hoped to do so again.

img_7568

View west from Lower Vicar’s Farm

The survey methodology is similar to that of the bird atlas. You walk through your tetrad for two or three hours, four times in the year, taking in a range of habitats and recording everything you see or hear.  We are asked to start about half an hour after dawn.  You then record the findings on the BTO’s birdtrack.

Cowleaze
So I set off at about 8.30am last Saturday from Cowleaze Wood car-park, about a mile north of Christmas Common in Oxfordshire.  Masses of chaffinches flew up from the ground into the beech trees, very difficult to count.  I heard a nuthatch and jay and immediately saw three red kites.

img_7558

Cowleaze Wood

The Vale of Oxford was a pale mist beyond the Chiltern escarpment.

img_7560

View down the escarpment

I had to leave my tetrad briefly so stopped the clock. I got back into it on the bridleway approaching Lower Vicar’s Farm in the bottom of the Wormsley Valley.  Redwings flew across the track, feeding on the copious berries.  There were lots more kites but I didn’t want to double count so I was a bit cautious about the numbers, recording 14.

img_7564

Bridleway to Lower Vicar’s Farm

img_7565

Lower Vicar’s Farm

 

 

 

 

 

 

The pond at the farm is a bit stagnant, and it looked like a sparrowhawk had been there.

sparrowhawk-has-been

The bridleway is a dead end at the Buckinghamshire boundary beyond Lower Vicar’s.  It is ridiculous that there is no definitive path along the bottom of the valley, and something to be investigated before 2026  when the map is closed to applications based on historical evidence (though I am pretty certain this has been tried before unsuccessfully).

img_7572

Looking north along the bridleway

img_7573

Looking south along the non-definitive route

 

 

 

 

 

 

I climbed up the hill on the footpath through an old maize crop where I saw 25 linnets. Some of them perched on the wires.

img_7576

Linnets

The view was lovely.

view

Then it was into the woods again, at first through young birch, then more mature trees, and then conifers.  Cowleaze is owned by the Forestry Commission with public access. There were a lot of tits in the conifers, and I saw marsh,coal, blue and great tits, and heard goldcrests.  It’s hard work looking up into the tops of the trees to identify birds.

img_7588

I spent a bit of time near where I had seen the crossbill seven years ago, crazy really but you never know!

It is a shame that the adjoining mature beechwood has no public access, it looks so inviting.

img_7585

I had some time left over and so I walked on access land on the other side of the Christmas Common road, looking across to Bald Hill.  This was a completely different habitat. I saw more redwings here.

img_7591

My total was 25 species.  When I entered my 81 chaffinches (probably an underestimate) on the BTO website it challenged me in red letters, saying ‘unusually high bird-count’.  I find that odd, but I confirmed it.

About campaignerkate

I am the general secretary of the Open Spaces Society and I campaign for public access, paths and open spaces in town and country.
This entry was posted in Birds, British Trust for Ornithology, Bucks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Too many chaffinches?

  1. Tim Grout-Smith says:

    Nice post Kate and I admire your tireless campaigning for us walkers! But I am puzzled as to how the Wormsley valley, on the east of the escarpment, contributes to the River Thame catchment 🙂

    • Dear Tim
      Thank you for your comment. I too was surprised, but pleased too as I don’t like having to travel long distances to do surveys. I think this tetrad is the furthest one from the Thame.

Leave a Reply

