Piddington path-check: day 4

My fourth and final day of checking the paths in Piddington and Wheeler End parish was on 26 August, and I walked in the north-west part of the parish.

web-101-bw1-looking-w

The bridleway west from Chipps Hill

I set off from the road at the bottom of Chipps Hill, following the bridleway to the boundary with Stokenchurch parish.  Here I reckoned the definitive path was on the other side of the boundary hedge than where it was on the ground so I have reported this.

web-103-jct-bw1-4

but on the ground it is on the Stokenchurch side

web-104-fp4-poss

Path on the map should be alongside the hedge on the Piddington side

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I headed north through the woods; to make a reasonable circular walk without a long trek along the A40 I went into Stokenchurch parish to the west and thence through the Chiltern Society’s Bottom Wood in Radnage.  This is a pleasant and interesting walk and I must go back in the spring when the orchids are flowering.

web-113-bw-27

Bridleway looking towards Piddington

I returned to Piddington on a bridleway which brought me out at Ham Farm, a trouble-free walk to end the year’s checking.  Now I must follow up the outstanding problems.  I’ll be back next year.

web-114-ham-farm

Ham Farm

About campaignerkate

I am the general secretary of the Open Spaces Society and I campaign for public access, paths and open spaces in town and country.
This entry was posted in AONB, Chilterns, Ramblers, Ramblers' path-check, walking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

