Bucks gets its skates on

In my blogs about path check in Piddington and Wheeler End I expressed some frustration with the online system for reporting path problems to Buckinghamshire County Council, the highway authority.  However, I had a much better experience this week.

I reported a recently-installed stile on Turville footpath 22 at grid reference SU 747919.  It is an obstruction to free passage: the gap between the top step and the rail is too large and there isn’t anyway room to swing your leg over because of the dog-door. I found it awkward, and for many it would be impossible.

fp22-stile-2

Also, there is dangerous barbed wire close to the upright posts.

img_7745

I sent my report at 6pm on Tuesday 2 January.  I received a response at 10am on Wednesday 3 January from rights-of-way assistant Sophie David. She had already written to the landowner (the Gettys of Wormsley I presume) and offered to provide a gate to replace the stile.  Service indeed!

About campaignerkate

I am the general secretary of the Open Spaces Society and I campaign for public access, paths and open spaces in town and country.
This entry was posted in Bucks, Obstructed path, Public paths, walking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

