Cardiff’s green trail

Last Saturday I had an hour to spare in Cardiff so I enjoyed a short stretch of the Taff Trail.  It is astonishing how quickly this leads you out of the city centre and into greenery, alongside the River Taff.  

The 55-mile route runs from Cardiff Bay to Brecon.  I started at the railway bridge and walked north to Cardiff Bridge.

1 Taff Trail

Cardiff Bridge

After that it soon became rural.

2 Taff Trail

I could have walked on the eastern side through Bute Park but there were preparations for an event so I avoided it.  Further up there were goosander sunning themselves on rocks in the river.

3 Taff Trail and goosander

There are Goosander on the rocks further up

Because I had limited time, I had to turn back when I reached Pontcanna Fields.

4 Taff Trail

From Pontcanna Fields looking downstream

I headed back towards the city, still in rural surroundings.

5 Taff Trail

This time, I crossed Cardiff Bridge to walk next to the Millennium Stadium.  There are mosaics depicting various nations which took part in the 1999 rugby World Cup.  I photographed the Japanese one in honour of my many Japanese friends who promote walking with their own version of Walkers Are Welcome towns.

IMAG1095_1

About campaignerkate

I am the general secretary of the Open Spaces Society and I campaign for public access, paths and open spaces in town and country.
This entry was posted in Wales, Walkers Are Welcome Towns, walking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

