Serenaded by warblers

It’s warbler time at Otmoor, and it’s hard to stay away.  As soon as I stepped out of the car in the car-park on 29 April I was serenaded by a scratchy whitethroat.

I walked along the ‘Roman Road’, a green track in a green shade, and there were more whitethroat, blackcap, willow warblers and chiffchaff.  In the field on the other side of the thick hedge I could hear grasshopper warblers.

IMG_8365

The Roman Road

As I headed towards the reedbeds the hedges were alive with sedge warblers and the reeds, rightly, with reed warblers.  Unusually, I even saw a reed warbler in a tree.

IMG_8364

The reed warbler was in one of the trees on the right of the ditch

And every so often there would be a burst from a Cetti’s warbler.

The only warblers I might have seen or heard and failed to do so were garden warbler and lesser whitethroat (although I thought I heard the latter).  But that was compensated by sightings of cuckoos, male marsh harrier, drumming snipe, peregrine and much else.

IMG_8366

The peregrine was perched on a post in the middle distance

About campaignerkate

I am the general secretary of the Open Spaces Society and I campaign for public access, paths and open spaces in town and country.
This entry was posted in Birds and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

