Westerly for wood warblers

My bird year is never complete unless I hear a wood warbler, but I am conscious they are being pushed more and more westerly. They used to be readily found in the Forest of Dean, but no more. I have heard them in oakwoods in mid and west Wales, and most reliably in the magical White Wood below Bench Tor in the Dartmoor National Park.

White Wood: dappled sunlight.

This year I made two brief visits to White Wood, the first on the afternoon of Saturday 8 June, a quick look-in after the Dartmoor Preservation Association AGM. I was rewarded with pied flycatchers but no wood warbler among the dappled trees; then I got a tantalising short snatch of song as I was leaving.

And so I returned at midday on Monday 10 June, dropping down by the Venford water-treatment works (where siskins sing), and following the stone track to the wood.

The way to the wood.

Again I saw a pied flycatcher as I entered the wood. Shortly after I heard the unmistakeable song of the wood warbler—a thrilling trill. At the end was the heart-stoppingly beautiful tuh tuh tuh. I listened and watched it for some time, flitting from tree to tree, often invisible, often sounding as though it came from somewhere else. I recorded it here (with noisy wren).

Wood warbler, well camouflaged.

That glorious song must sustain me for another year, with its memory of that exquisite western woodland.

White Wood.

About campaignerkate

I am the general secretary of the Open Spaces Society and I campaign for public access, paths and open spaces in town and country.
This entry was posted in Birds, Dartmoor, Natural history, Woods and forests and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Westerly for wood warblers

  1. Walking Away says:

    Not sure I have ever knowlingly heard one.

Leave a comment