Pieds and spots

This is probably the first year that I have seen more pied flycatchers than spotted ones. I used to see spots regularly here in the Chilterns, perching on the wire up the road to greet me on my morning run, but this year I have so far only seen one, at RSPB Nagshead in Gloucestershire.

However, I have had a number of sightings of pieds, and they are always rewarding, flashing black and white among the trees. I was particularly pleased to see them in the Tavy valley woods, below Hill Bridge on the west side of the Dartmoor National Park.

River Tavy where the flycatchers were.

I heard them first on 8 June, making an alarm call in the evening as I approached, and then I was able to spot the male and female gathering food for the nest. As their calls echoed above the sound of the river it was difficult to know how many there were, but I definitely saw two. I recorded them here.

The male flew across the river and perched high in a tree on the other bank, dancing in the air to catch insects. I was able to get a photo.

Male, with insects in its beak.

They were there every time I walked past over the next two days, but then I had to leave them to come home. I hope they nest successfully and that they return next year.

Male pied flycatcher.

About campaignerkate

I am the general secretary of the Open Spaces Society and I campaign for public access, paths and open spaces in town and country.
This entry was posted in Birds, Dartmoor, Natural history, Woods and forests. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pieds and spots

  1. Walking Away says:

    There does seem to be quite a few pied in London, although they seem a bit dozy feeding off the pavements

  2. Do you mean pied wagtails?

Leave a comment